Question about revision surgery (gastric band to bypass). Hamilton or Toronto?

fetisha
on 3/5/12 9:54 am - Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
 Hi there,

I apologize if there are already posts about revision surgery but I'm just starting out and need some help if it's available.

I've currently had the lap-band for 4 years now and have almost gained back most of the weight I lost.  I looked into the gastric bypass back then but the weight times were YEARS and the only viable option was the US at the time.  I was not willing to take the risk of going out of the country.

I live in Hamilton and have been reading on the Ontario Obesity Bariatric Network about revision surgery.  However, I noticed the criteria for St. Joesph's Hospital states that they don't accept patients who have had previous weight loss surgeries.  That was very disappointing to read.  

Has anyone here had revision surgery in Toronto?  Obviously that would be my next city of choice since I can't have surgery in Hamilton. 

I would LOVE to get some advice.  Also, does anyone know if revisions are done on patients who had their previous weight loss surgery at a private clinic rather than a hospital?

Thank you in advance!

Val
sam1am
on 3/5/12 10:15 pm
Hi Val,

Sorry you don't have any answers yet, but revisions are not overly common on this board, although they do happen.  I just wanted to say hi and welcome to the board as I know nothing about you question.

HOpefully someone who actually knows something will chime in soon.  Otherwise maybe wait a day or two and ask again, as sometimes those who have experience with this may be off the boards for a few days.

All the best!

Sandy                                           

"The best way to cheer yourself up is to try to cheer somebody  else up"                     

Mark Twain                                                       LW-Apple-Gold-Small.jpg image by PlicketyCatAnimation One      

fetisha
on 3/8/12 2:41 am - Hamilton, Ontario, Canada