For those at or near goal - career question

reliena
on 1/4/14 1:48 pm - Toronto, Canada
VSG on 05/06/14

This is a question for those who have got closer to goal or have been their "small size" for awhile. Do you find, now that you've been in your "new body" for awhile, that you have begun thinking about a different career? I'm 30, and pre-op, but because of perhaps the most tumultuous year of my life, I'm finding myself at a career crossroads, where I am considering not continuing in my profession (I'm a theatrical costume technician). Since losing my main job in April, I've been drifiting between temp office work and short term costume gigs, and then the last two months I've been full time caregiver to my stepmom who is terminally ill. It's hard to think about, but I know that soon enough she is going to be gone, we'll have some time to grieve and settle things, but then I have to get back to making an income. We've already dipped into savings.

I suppose I ask this question because I'm asking myself a lot of "what should I be doing with my professional life" questions, but a lot of the answers will probably feel different when I'm near my goal weight. Some of my career paths could involve further education or at least particular effort, and I'm wondering if I should just leave those big picture questions until after I've adjusted to a new lifestyle. I was pretty slim about ten years ago, and I know that I carried myself with more confidence to perhaps do more outgoing, people oriented jobs.

So maybe until then I should just keep temping or get some kind of inte******* that pays the bills, and leave the big career questions until well after surgery. What do y'all think?

shoshanaApr2013
on 1/4/14 6:39 pm
First of all, I think it's really great that you're taking care of your stepmom. Care giving for someone who is ill, elderly, or has special needs is a difficult task, but so incredibly important, meaningful and valuable. You rock!