A question about gas...

Swell
on 12/29/14 10:39 pm - Southwestern Ontario, Canada

So my husband is doing the supportive husband thing and reading the Weight Loss Surgery for Dummies book, and he just came across the section on gas, and how farting will be a frequent issue, and very foul smelling. Needless to say, he's concerned --not just for himself but also since I'm a teacher and he thinks it might be an embarrassing issue for me, especially if it's loud (I have to admit that it worries me too--teenagers get distracted easily ).

So, my questions are: Do you "toot" a lot more since surgery? Is it uncontrollable? Loud? Really foul smelling?

Thanks!

kellybelly333
on 12/29/14 10:51 pm - Toronto, Canada

I probably toot just as much as I did before surgery. LOL. A different odor, and can be quite foul if I have over-indulged on carbs, which isn't often, so I don't have that problem at all really. I wouldn't worry about it. In the beginning the issue I had with gas (as many do) is getting it to move. Water and GasX were my friends. Good luck!

Surgery March 23/2011. Completed three full marathons and two half marathons, two half Ironman distances. Completed my first Full Ironman distance (4 km swim, 180 km bike, 42.2 km (full marathon) run) in Muskoka August 30/2015. Next Ironman Lake Placid July 23/2017!

Catw
on 12/29/14 11:24 pm - Arnprior, Canada

If you haven't started opti, you'll find out why some say "never trust a fart".  Just warning if you are doing Opti during term.  I do have a bit more gas than I did pre-WLS but the odor and frequency are completely controlled by your diet.  You'll discover what things cause more gas than others.  For me, onion, garlic, beans (i.e. chili), broccoli are some triggers.  For me onion is the worst for smell.