TT/AL/TL/BLw/A 6-15

jlyn412
on 5/20/12 11:30 am - Atlanta, GA
My 4 year anniversary is this Wednesday and I have finally decided to get this extra skin cut off! I am having a tummy tuck, an arm lift, an inner thigh lift, and a breast lift with gel implants. My doctor said because I was so small that doing them all at one time would still keep me under the 6 hour limit. I do have a few questions for those of you that have been there. First, recovery time? The Doc said I could do pretty much whatever I wanted after 6 weeks, but mostly I am curious about returning to work, I have a VERY low impact job...I sit and watch TV for a living. I was thinking maybe 3 weeks. Also, My company pays for STD and I am curious if anyone has had any experience with filing a claim for STD for "cosmetic" procedures? I am hoping since I have been covered under the plan for 8 years including my WLS that the sagging skin is an "injury" that I incurred while on the plan. Does anyone have any advice?
Iam_with_the_Band
on 5/20/12 12:22 pm
I was granted STD because my FMLA was approved.  My company states if the FMLA is approved, the STD is approved. 

I had an Anchor Cut TT/LBL and extended Thigh Lift.  I was off for 11 weeks because I really didn't want to cause any incisions of my thigh lift to open.  The thighs have the highest complication rate for open incisions.  I think staying home from work for 6 weeks is a good idea.  Remember your body just went through major surgery, you will have hundreds of internal stitches and your healing is enhanced by rest.  I found I had no energy and just wanted to nap off and on all day.  I was also massively swelling at 3 weeks and the more I was up and doing stuff, the more I swelled.  I would rest and walk around a bit, then rest some more. 

12/09 and 6/11, 9 skin removal procedures with Dr. Sauceda in Monterrey Mexico
Revised to the Sleeve after losing 271 lbs with the LapBand. 

jlyn412
on 5/20/12 10:40 pm - Atlanta, GA