smoking and tummy tuck

starlightlu
on 4/3/14 8:36 pm - Canada

Hi, I was wondering if anyone has smoked before and after surgery and how it affected your recovery. I am not proud but I am a veteran smoker and have not been able to quit. Please no condescending comments; i'm well aware of the harmful affects of smoking...i'm addicted. For anyone not comfortable replying please PM me. Thank-you!

laughstarlight

SW 260 SW 257 CW 139 GW 130  

Miss150
on 4/4/14 12:03 am

Expack-a-day girl here- I know it's hard!  My understanding is that smoking greatly impairs the skin's ability to heal- and it is an important factor.  Any chance in the world that you could work out a reasonable timeline with your surgeon and white knuckle it for a before and after period that s/he may feel is safe?  Wishing you the best of luck in this- wise decisions and mostly, good health.  Bonnie

goal!!! August 20, 2013   age: 59  High weight: 345 (June, 2011)  Consult weight: 293 (June, 2012)  Pre-Op: 253 (Nov., 2012) Surgery weight: 235 (Dec. 12, 2012) Current weight: 145

TOTAL POUNDS LOST- 200 (110 pounds lost before surgery, 90 pounds lost Post Op.diabetes in remission-blood pressure normal-cholesterol and triglyceride levels normal!  BMI from 55.6  supermorbidly obese to 23.6  normal!!!!  

Julia HasHerLifeNow
on 4/4/14 2:11 am
VSG on 10/09/12