Someone else finally "gets it"

Tracy D.
on 5/27/15 10:57 am, edited 5/27/15 10:58 am - Papillion, NE
VSG on 05/24/13

I've been working with an eating disorder therapist for the last 9 months.  My sessions have dropped to about once a month.  Since my LBL is coming up on July 8th, a lot of our discussions have centered on that:  fears, expectations, logistics, etc.  

One of the things I've struggled with is that everyone (especially family) thinks I look just "fine".  They have no idea about the amount of excess skin I have camouflaged under my clothes.  The plastics guy knows, obviously, as does my husband.  But I really, really needed someone to SEE me - the real me, if you know what I mean.  

So today in therapy I asked her if I could pull out all my excess skin to just get her reaction and affirmation that I'm not just vain, that I'm not crazy and wasting good money.  She said sure (there was no disrobing required of course!).  So I stood up and pulled out the handfuls of loose skin from all around the waistband of my dress pants.  As I kept pulling and tugging and releasing all the skin her eyes got a little bigger and she said, "Wow, you really DO camouflage it well with how you dress!".  

I don't know why but it was super important for a neutral 3rd party to see this and affirm that there's good reason to want it gone.  (I don't count the surgeon as neutral because it's his job to cut and he gets paid good money to do so.)  The therapist has been working on the emotional part with me but I wanted her to see the physical part - and today she did.  An image I'm sure she won't be able to get out of her mind anytime soon - LOL!  

I plan to take lots of "before" pics so when I'm dealing with post-op issues -pain, swelling, regrets - that I can look back and remind myself how bad it REALLY was.  

Tracy  5'3"     HW: 235  SW: 218  CW: 132    M1: -22  M2: -13  M3: -12  M4: -9  M5: -8   M6: -10   M7: -4

Goal reached in 7 months and 1 week