3 weeks post-op...going out to a restaurant?

Christine428
on 4/28/11 10:03 am, edited 4/28/11 10:03 am
We're meeting friends tomorrow for dinner and I'm wondering what's a good restaurant to go to and what to order? We have most of the big chain restaurants around here, fridays, applebees, chilis, outback, red lobster, etc. I'm still on pureed foods til next tuesday btw.

poet_kelly
on 4/28/11 10:06 am - OH
I ate my first pureed meal at a restaurant -  mashed potatoes.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

qnmimi
on 4/28/11 10:06 am - Cottage Grove, MN
Anything that serves a soup. I've also heard that some restaurants will puree things for you...are you on softs, or still puree? If you have an idea of where you might be going, check out their menus online, and choose the better restaurant that suits your plan. Can't hurt to call ahead for a special request.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 4/28/11 10:08 am, edited 4/28/11 10:09 am - OH
If you're still on pureed foods, that's going to be tough. Soup might be your best bet, but beware the cream soups because they often have a very high fat content (real cream or lots of butter) in restaurants (and might make you VERY ill). Same goes for restaurant mashed potatoes... so be sure to ASK.

I didn't have to do purees, so my first eating out experience was easier and I don;t have other suggestions, but I wanted to warn you about the soup and potatoes.

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

fickleme
on 4/28/11 11:07 am - Bessemer City, NC