Dry Heaves for past 3 days...please help!

lhollywood
on 7/7/11 4:58 am
 First off I will tell you that I am just finishing up my time of the month...not sure if that makes any difference.  Since Tuesday I have been having very intense back pain, dry heaves at least once an hour and just an overall weak feeling.  I have only been able to keep my water down for the most part because I am not wanting to become dehydrated.  I have hardly had anything to eat in the past 3 days.  I've had a few bites of soup that have managed to stay down, but my shakes come right back up. I'm waiting to here back from the surgeons office as to whether this is a serious issue or just a little bit of pouch upset.   And I'm not sure if the back pain is due to constant dry heaving or not.  At first I thought it was gas, and got out the gas-x strips, with no relief.   I got sent home from work today due to the dry heaving,(I'm a nurse and work with moms and babies)  and other than that I'm ok. I know I'm not contagious...  Just kinda sore.  Any suggestions of what I can try to do to relieve this or from someone with similar experiences would be appreciated.
 "Maybe the past is like an anchor holding us back. Maybe, you have to let go of who you were to become who you will be..."              
(deactivated member)
on 7/7/11 5:09 am - TX
Honestly sounds like it could be a stomach virus of some sort, but I would definitely call the doc and make sure you don't get dehydrated on top of it all.
poet_kelly
on 7/7/11 5:11 am - OH
I'd ask the doc for a prescription for something for nausea.

The fact that you haven't been able to eat much for a few days isn't a real big deal as long as you are staying hydrated, but you don't want to go too long without getting your protein.