Medication/Isopure

charb149
on 9/18/11 8:04 am
 I am on alot of meds. Having RNY I know I have to see if any come liquid or gummy. What has everyone done about their meds. I take a few that are like horse pills.

Also has anyone used Isopure? Which are the best flavors? Thanks for input
poet_kelly
on 9/18/11 8:08 am - OH
Some of your meds may come in a liquid or chewable, but I would not expect many to be available in a gummy.

What I did about my meds was just to continue taking them as I always have.  I was able to swallow them with no problems about 12 hours after my surgery.

I've tried the Isopure ready to drink clear protein and I can't remember what flavors.  I thought it was OK but did not love it.  It has a slight aftertaste, to me.  You can buy single bottles of it, though, to try.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

charb149
on 9/18/11 8:22 am
 Thanks for input

Eliza55
on 9/18/11 8:22 am - PA
I have some large meds, and my surgeon had different requirements than Kelly's.  I have a pill crusher, and I am required to crush them if they are not chewable.  I immediately throw up anything that isn't well chewed so I'll continue to follow my doc's orders.   It does take a lot of fortitude to take those meds. 

For vitamins, I use Celebrate. 

I am trying some individual Isopure this week.  If they're bad, I'll add some Crystal lite or something similar.  I can imagine they will have an aftertaste, as all protein shakes do for me. 

But, I need to have my meds and my protein, so even though I don't like the taste, I'll deal with it until I'm further along.
Eliza
Consult:239   SW:217  1mo:195  2mo:182  3mo:169   6mo:139  9mo GOAL CW: +2 from underweight