iron questin

Kristen M.
on 9/18/11 7:26 am - VA
I am suppose to take two 65mg iron pills a day...i was wondering if i could take them both at the same time?  
What you do today creates every tomorrow-Oprah    
poet_kelly
on 9/18/11 7:31 am - OH
Yes.  If you take them with some vitamin C (200 mg for every 30 mg iron, so about 800 mg) that will help the iron be absorbed better.  Make sure you take them at least two hours away from your calcium.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Kristen M.
on 9/18/11 7:33 am - VA
 so i have to buy a bottle of vitamin c before I can do it? my doc says take calcium 4 hours apart from iron.  I can't take it without the vitamin c? 
poet_kelly
on 9/18/11 7:37 am - OH
No no, I'm sorry.  I wasn't clear there.  You CAN take the iron without the vitamin C.  If you don't have vitamin C right now, still take your iron.

Get some vitamin C when you get a chance.  Buy any brand, the store brands are usually pretty cheap.  But you do not need to wait until you get the C to start your iron.

If your doc says four hours away from calcium, that's fine.  I do my iron at night right before bed, which is several hours after my last calcium.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Kristen M.
on 9/18/11 7:38 am - VA