B12 Vitamins

Lisa G.
on 9/30/11 1:21 am - Louisville (southern Indiana Actually), KY
Can B12 vitamins be taken orally (not the sublingual or injections)?   Thanks!  
   Sleep Tight, America
   PROUD ARMY MOM
   My Sons Have Your Back

poet_kelly
on 9/30/11 1:24 am - OH
Not if you want to absorb them.  Not only has the place they get absorbed in the small intestine been bypassed, but you also need something called intrinsic factor to absorb B12 from your stomach (or pouch) and your pouch has very little of that.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Lisa G.
on 9/30/11 1:41 am - Louisville (southern Indiana Actually), KY
Thanks Kelly!
   Sleep Tight, America
   PROUD ARMY MOM
   My Sons Have Your Back

(deactivated member)
on 9/30/11 2:27 am - RI

My surgeon has me on a B-Complex pill... is that not correct to be on ?
poet_kelly
on 9/30/11 2:58 am - OH
The ASMBS says a B complex is optional.  It's not incorrect to take one, but unless it's a sublingual that contains at least 350-500 mcg B12, it's not meeting your B12 needs.  You'll need to take B12 in addition to the B complex.

You can get B12 in a sublingual, a nasal spray, a patch or shots.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

rbb825
on 9/30/11 3:23 pm - Suffern, NY