Calories, 13 mos out - Am I eating enough or too much?

arruncomic
on 4/20/12 11:41 am
I'm 13.5 months out. I've lost 277lbs. Down from 567 to 290. (So Happy!)

I'm burning anywhere from 1500-2000 cals a day through cardio and strength training.

My calories are averaging 1500/day with 100-130 g of protein.

My nut is on vacation, so I thought I'd ask you guys - Am I eating enough?

Thanks,

Bill
poet_kelly
on 4/20/12 11:47 am - OH
Do you want to lose any more weight?  If so, you need to eat fewer calories than you burn.  If you typically burn 1500 calories and eat 1500 calories, you'll maintain your current weight.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Cherokeesage
on 4/20/12 1:29 pm
RNY on 02/24/12
Are you still losing?  If not, then you are consuming more than you are burning.  Congrats on such a huge drop in wt.

Banded  Oct 2008:  290       
RNY Feb 2012:        245    
Dr's set goal:            170 reached Oct 11, 2012
My goal:                     160  reached Dec 1, 2012
Today :                       145-150

I am half the person I was in 2008.

Ladytazz
on 4/20/12 1:29 pm
Kelly is right.  There is no exact answer.  We are all different and we all have different metabolisms and different activity levels.  So the answer really is, if you are still losing at this rate of calories then you are burning more then 1500 calories a day and you will keep losing until  your body hits the point where 1500 calories is what you need to maintain.  If you aren't losing then you need to eat less.  If you lose too much then you need to eat more.  It's all very individual and just trial and error until you find what works for you.

WLS 10/28/2002 Revision 7/23/2010