Sipping after a meal

pittgal08
on 8/2/12 1:49 am
I had a quick, probably silly, question. I'm trying to practice all the little things that are so important after surgery. So I've been doing no liquid 30 min prior to a meal, and no liquid an hour after. However, I was wondering if it's ok, after surgery, to just take a very small sip just to "cleanse your pallette?" I'm trying really hard to create great habits now. Thanks guys!

poet_kelly
on 8/2/12 1:52 am - OH
I think a small sip is OK.  What you don't want to do is wash the food out of your pouch.

Also, I don't think there is really any reason not to drink for 30 minutes before a meal.  Liquid doesn't stay in your pouch more than a couple of minutes.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

GraceGirl
on 8/2/12 1:54 am
I drink before the liquids wont sit in there like food.... I drink 30 minutes after. I think a small sip would be ok. I actually have done it (small sip) them I wait 30 minutes.

"If you're interested in achieving success, you'll do what's convenient. When you are committed to success, you'll do whatever it takes."

Cleopatra_Nik
on 8/2/12 1:56 am - Baltimore, MD
I think it can be a slippery slope.

You can have a strawberry or other small bit of fruit after a meal to cleanse your palate as well. That way you're adhering to the rule but you don't have to deal with "food breath."

RNY Gastric Bypass 1-8-08 350/327/200 (HW/SW/CW). I spend most of my time playing with my food over at Bariatric Foodie - check me out!

courtwillbehealthy
on 8/2/12 2:01 am - burlington, VT