Is it inappropriate to ask someone if they had their excess skin removed?

RainbowRN
on 12/12/12 6:38 pm - OH
RNY on 03/12/13

I have seen so many wonderful "after" pics on here.  I keep wondering what I am going to look like after I have surgery.  I want to ask some people so bad if they have had surgery to remove excess skin or if its just hidden very well.  I don't want to offend anyone.  I'm a very open person.  Nothing really offends me.  I'm a nurse so my friends and I talk about some pretty nasty stuff and it doesn't phase us.  What others consider as TMI, I do not.  So sometimes I need to remind myself that not everyone is like me.  What do u guys think?

HW: 373 GW: 170 HT: 5'10"

Laura in Texas
on 12/12/12 7:09 pm

I think a simple, "have you had any plastic surgery?" is not too intrusive, especially on a weight loss forum where many of us have had it. Out in the real world I do think it is too intrusive. Many of us have it listed in our signature, like me. I'm an open book. Before plastics, though, I could hide my midsection in support wear. I don't look any different clothed and I did not go down in size. If you look in my 3rd year post-op photo album all but the last 3 were pre-lbl/bl.

Laura in Texas

53 years old; 5'7" tall; HW: 339 (BMI=53); GW: 140 CW: 170 (BMI=27)

RNY: 09-17-08 Dr. Garth Davis

brachioplasty: 12-18-09 Dr. Wainwright; lbl/bl: 06-28-11 Dr. LoMonaco

"May your choices reflect your hopes and not your fears."

RainbowRN
on 12/12/12 8:35 pm - OH
RNY on 03/12/13

You look great!  Congratulations!  I'm so looking forward to everything.  :)

HW: 373 GW: 170 HT: 5'10"

cajungirl
on 12/12/12 7:35 pm
I don't think it's inappropriate on a WLS board. I wouldn't be offended if I was asked. I did have some plastics. Plastics didn't make me lose additional weight nor size.....it did make clothes fit better but mainly it made me feel much better.

Proximal RNY Lap - 02/21/05

9 years committed ~  100% EWL and Maintaining