Meals - Timing and Frequency

RebeccaElise
on 12/25/12 2:47 pm - Quincy, MA

I am a nurse by profession. I'm not working right now, but I still seem to keep the crazy hours I have when I am working. Specifically, my days tend to be very long (up to 18-20 hours sometimes) and my hours of sleep are sufficient (7-9 usually), though not necessarily at the same time every day.

Since surgery (I'm 2 weeks PO), I've been trying very hard to keep a regular  schedule, but the better I feel, the more I am slipping back into my regular routine. My question is, how to approach meals/eating? So far, I've been handling it by making sure I get in 64 oz. of fluids (at least) every 24 hours and eating smallish protein-only meals every 5 or so hours because my surgeon's team told me to never go more than 5 hours between meals. Does this make sense? I'm only averaging about 600-700 calories (at the MOST) in a 24 hour period right now, but I'm worried about whether I'm eating too much?

garnetgal
on 12/25/12 3:23 pm - Redwood City, CA
RNY on 04/02/12

You don't say what you're eating, however at 2 weeks post-op it can't be much as you are still learning your pouch. I've been eating every 2-1/2 to 3 hours with protein being the main objective since I started on foods. I'm almost 9 months out, but at 2 weeks I remember that I was on pureed foods and could only eat around a 1/4 - 1/2 cup at most. I just looked back at myfitnesspal and I was averaging about 500 to 600 calories a day then. Now it's somewhere between 800 and 1200 depending on whether I'm having a big or small pouch day. Looking at my program plan the first month it states 600 calories. So, it sounds like you're in the ballpark calorie wise. Double check your surgeon's plan and you are still new. Relax, enjoy your journey and good luck!

RebeccaElise
on 12/25/12 3:46 pm - Quincy, MA