Coffee???

lumina99
on 2/12/13 2:50 pm - ME
I love my coffee! I only have one large cup in the morning. But I've been told that you shouldn't have coffee after surgery. My surgery is March 18th and I'm trying to wean myself off. I miss my regular strong coffee So is it true that I can't have regular coffee after/in the future?
poet_kelly
on 2/12/13 2:56 pm - OH

You can have it if you want.  Some people choose not to have caffeine because it can aggrevate an ulcer, interfere somewhat with the absorption of iron and calcium, cause insomnia, etc.  Other people choose to have it in moderation (well, some have more than that!).

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

apurdie
on 2/12/13 3:15 pm - CA

I was told that I can have one cup a day. Usually I have it first thing.

Have2laugh
on 2/12/13 3:28 pm - Cheektowaga, NY

We were told that we can have it if our pouch says that it is ok

Kenny B.
on 2/12/13 5:46 pm - Leland, NC
RNY on 01/30/12

I have about a pot everyday. Usually  2 big cups of a morning, and 1 in the afternoon. Sometimes 1 in the evening when I get home from work.

No problems so far.  

Kenny B.
Philippians 4;6-7

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

Poppygail
on 2/12/13 5:52 pm - Florence, KY
RNY on 03/06/13

I have chronic migraines and the caffeine from a morning cup of coffee definitely helps. Therefore, my surgeon says I can continue this one cup post-op as long as it doesn't bother my pouch.

Randy

Laura in Texas