Kidney Stones

yvonnef
on 4/25/13 4:28 am

Has anyone suffered Kidney Stones since their surgery? I have battled with it for the past several months, was tested and just told that I am having them because of the RNY surgery. Just wondering if there are anyone else out there that is having or had problems since surgery and what they are doing to help combat that? Mine are calcium oxalate.

Yvonne 
"I can do everything through Him who gives me strength"
Philippians 4:13

poet_kelly
on 4/25/13 4:29 am - OH

Make sure you are taking calcium citrate, not calcium carbonate.  Carbonate can cause kidney stones, while citrate actually helps prevent them.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

cajungirl
on 4/25/13 4:34 am

I've seen this posted on OH and a FB group I'm in.  Those that have dealt with it swear drinking lemon aid has helped them.  Something about the natural citrate helping prevent future stones.

Proximal RNY Lap - 02/21/05

9 years committed ~  100% EWL and Maintaining

www.dazzlinglashesandbeyond.com

yvonnef
on 4/25/13 4:59 am

Thank you both, I did find out on an old post about calcium carbonate. That is what I have been using. I am switching back to bariatric advantage calcium citrate. My urologist told me to be careful about the sugar in lemonade. I have upped my lemon water though. Thanks for the info!

Yvonne 
"I can do everything through Him who gives me strength"
Philippians 4:13

poet_kelly
on 4/25/13 7:13 am - OH

You may want to get a bone density scan done, then.  Since we can't absorb calcium carbonate and need calcium citrate, your bones may be in poor shape if you've been taking carbonate for very long.