Arthritis

lumina99
on 7/20/13 1:03 pm - ME

Did anyone notice they had sore joints after this surgery? I was wondering if my arthritis was maybe related to the surgery or just because I work with my hands all the time?

Laura A.

poet_kelly
on 7/20/13 1:03 pm - OH

I don't know how WLS would cause arthritis.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 7/20/13 2:19 pm - OH

I can't imagine how having RNY would cause arthritis since your digestive system doesn't have anything to do with the condition of your joints, especially non-weight bearing joints.  Have you had X-rays to confirm that the pain is because of arthritis?  Did you have the pain at all before the surgery? If you work with your hands "all the time" that could definitely contribute to developing sore joints (whether arthritis or not). Any very repetitive motion can cause pain or injury.

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

PetHairMagnet
on 7/21/13 1:35 am
RNY on 05/13/13
On July 20, 2013 at 8:03 PM Pacific Time, lumina99 wrote:

Did anyone notice they had sore joints after this surgery? I was wondering if my arthritis was maybe related to the surgery or just because I work with my hands all the time?

First, sore joints does not automatically equate to arthritis. Secondly, it sounds like you are self-diagnosing. You should see a doctor to see what your actual issue is. And as others have said, there is not a connection between WLS and arthritis.