Cottage Cheese Test???

Gina96
on 10/1/13 3:10 am - IL

I read somewhere on this board that you could do a cottage cheese test to see how big your pouch has stretched? Has anyone done this and is it true?

poet_kelly
on 10/1/13 3:36 am - OH

All the cottage cheese test does is tell you how much cottage cheese you can eat.  It doesn't really tell you the size of your pouch because it's a slider food, meaning it's wet and squishy and slides through the pouch easily. The only way to really know if your pouch is stretched is to have an endoscopy so the doctor can go in and look at the pouch.  It's unusual for the pouch to stretch, though, since it's made from the least stretchy part of the stomach.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

chris_ruff
on 10/1/13 3:43 am
RNY on 04/07/09 with

throw this one into the myth column along with drinking with straws, bigfoot, and pop rocks and soda. 

--Christina
binker88
on 10/1/13 12:50 pm

Just out of curiosity what's the myth surrounding pop rocks? I've never heard of that one. 

chris_ruff
on 10/1/13 1:13 pm
RNY on 04/07/09 with
When I was a kid, people used to say that if you ate pop rocks and drank soda at the same time, your mouth would explode!
--Christina
Member Services
on 10/1/13 3:56 am - Irvine, CA

Hello Gina96,

We used our search feature and found a thread discussing your question.  Please note the thread is several years old.

http://www.obesityhelp.com/forums/failed_wls_second_time_around/3910546/Cottage-cheese-test/

Gina96
on 10/1/13 4:59 am - IL