Adding fiber to your protein shake

poet_kelly
on 11/3/13 8:09 pm - OH

I wrote an article recently on ways to add fiber to your protein shake and thought it might be helpful for some people here.  I think the lack of fiber in our diet, especially in the early days post op, is one of the big reasons constipation is so common among RNY folks.

http://voices.yahoo.com/adding-fiber-protein-shake-12378614. html?cat=5

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Dukemom
on 11/3/13 8:27 pm
RNY on 12/17/13

Thanks for the information Kelly.

The protein shake I drink now is Nectar Medical Grade Whey Protein.  It mixes easily with skim milk when I mix it in a shaker.  I suspect the chia seeds I bought (premium ground) won't mix well with just shaking the drink.  Do you have good success with either a blender or food processor?  Any other suggestions for a smooth drink?

"Perseverance, secret of all triumphs."  ~ Victor Hugo   

Highest weight:  290; Weight at Surgery:  231; Current Weight:  126 (as of most recent Sunday)

poet_kelly
on 11/3/13 9:49 pm - OH

You'd probably want a blender to mix in the chia seeds.  Something like Benefiber should work well with just shaking it, though.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

saterry
on 11/3/13 9:47 pm - IN
Revision on 10/03/13

I turned my Vanilla shake into and orange cream shake with orange SF metamucil......6gm fiber not bad at all.