Post-Op Weight/Thanks

basilmk
on 1/12/14 3:56 am - FL
RNY on 01/07/14

I am less than a week post-op and my weight has fluctuated up and down by 15 lbs since weighing my self the first time after surgery.  At what point can I actually say that this is my post-op weight?  I know that I was and am still filled with fluids and "hot air" from the surgery but wonder when my weight will actually stabilize and quit jumping around?

Also, I have to say thank you to the wealth of information I have received by reading these forums in the last couple of weeks.  I have practically memorized my doctor's information but there are so many variables that are not addressed.  You guys rock!

poet_kelly
on 1/12/14 3:59 am - OH

Your weight will probably always fluctuate a little bit.  That's normal.  The excess weight from the fluids during surgery should be gone in a week or so. 

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

RNY on 10/21/13

What do you mean by "post-op weight?" Isn't your current weight your post-op weight? Give it some time and it will even out, but you'll find that it will still jump around to some degree due to water retention, hormones, etc. Most people lose in a step-like manner instead of a steady slope when you look at a line representation of your loss over time. 

As you will see and read, everyone is different. At 9-10 days post, I still weighed 2 lbs MORE than the morning of surgery. To be fair, I had a ton of fluids via IV while in the hospital and my body loves to hold on to water. ;)