Steroids and RNY?

onebigcelt
on 1/24/14 8:42 am - midlothian, VA
RNY on 11/22/13

My bariatric nurae said I have to tax Prilosec OTC if I am taking steroids for the rest of my life.... I don't understand why other than she said to protect my pouch.

poet_kelly
on 1/24/14 9:13 am - OH

Are you sure she was talking about steroids?  Not NSAIDS?

If you didn't understand why, why didn't you ask her why?  It's kind of hard for us to guess why she might have said something.

I've heard doctors saying NSAIDS were OK if you took an acid blocker with them, though others say they are still not OK and the ASMBS recommends not using them at all.  Most doctors say steroids are OK, and the ASMBS doesn't warn against using them.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

sonyamarie75
on 1/24/14 9:37 am - OH
RNY on 08/20/13 with

My surgeon's office also recommended a PPI for long term steroid use. Steroids are hard on your stomach under normal cir****tances :) Actually, I only had to use it short term and it made my pouch cranky. I was already on a PPI and had to go up on my dose. Good luck.

Sonya B, Toledo, Ohio- RNY  08/20/13  

onebigcelt
on 1/24/14 10:11 am - midlothian, VA
RNY on 11/22/13

Thanks! And yes it was steroid use not NSAIDs. Nsaids are off limits period

H.A.L.A B.
on 1/24/14 10:19 am, edited 1/24/14 10:42 pm

Depends on a dosage.  Yes. Steroids can cause damage to digestive track. Not only stomach - pouch but also intestine.

Hala. RNY 5/14/2008; Happy At Goal =HAG

"I can eat or do anything I want to - as long as I am willing to deal with the consequences"