Migraines post surgery: supplement or prescripton to deal with?

Jen Lyn
on 2/20/14 4:50 pm
RNY on 11/11/13

I haven't had a migraine in years. Now I have had about 20 small, short ones with aura since surgery three months ago. Any advice on why or what to do?
My PA told me after I begin taking supplements they might stop but they are not.  I will put a call in the morning.

poet_kelly
on 2/20/14 6:37 pm - OH

What supplements did the PA recommend for migraines?  If you're talking about vitamins, I'm not aware of any vitamin deficiency that causes migraines.  I'd see your PCP for medication for them.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Candy V.
on 2/20/14 8:54 pm - MI
RNY on 09/12/12

I have had migraines since I had children, so for almost 20 yrs.  I believe they are hormone driven in my case as the pregnancy started them and they cycle in frequency with my cycle.  The hormones flushed out during extreme weight loss may be the cause in your case.  See you PCP, I have prescription fioricet and imitrex for mine.   I hope this helps you get relief.

RNY 9/12    TT 9/13    HT 5' 4"   HW 250    SW 242   CW 125

Come keep it real in R&R 3.0 Want a group invite?  Send a PM  

Naskey
on 2/21/14 12:25 am - MI