Liquid Potassium

AnnyBananny
on 3/21/14 12:34 am - PA
RNY on 03/18/14

The surgery is done and I'm feeling pretty good. Had my RNY on Tuesday, home Wednesday. They did find that my potassium was very low in the hospital so I had several IVs of potassium before coming home, now I'm on a liquid potassium supplement at least through my first follow up visit - but it tastes HORRIBLE. Like thinking about having to have it again today is making me nervous. 

Has anyone had to use potassium chloride? Any suggestions for mixing it with something to make it more palatable? Thanks!

RNY @ Temple University Hospital, Philadelphia with Dr. Tatyan Clark 3/18/2014

poet_kelly
on 3/21/14 1:19 am - OH

My potassium was also low after my surgery.  I was prescribed potassium pills, though, not liquid.  They were big, I had to cut them in half.  They didn't taste bad, though.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Amy R.
on 3/21/14 1:48 am

Yes.  I've had it .  My potassium was down to a little over a 1.  They told me it was at cadaver level.  In fact, they were so sure the blood test was wrong that they repeated it several times and then did an arterial blood draw.

I had a cardiac arrest (ventrical tachycardia), partly due to this.  Suck it up and take it by itself.  It absorbs better. I had several doses in the ICU and I know it truly does taste awful, but if you're on liquid instead of pills it is serious.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news - but just drink it like a shot of tequila or something and wa**** down with a strong tasting drink.  You don't want a close encounter with a defibrillator (sp?) believe me. 

Take care.

Racewalker48
on 3/21/14 2:22 am
RNY on 02/17/14