How long did you all miss work

somestorm
on 3/29/14 5:12 am
with

I took two weeks off, which I think is a normal length. I had a revision from lap band to RNY, so my surgery was more complicated, but I wasn't *really* ready to go back to work after two weeks. I work in a lab, and the first day I went back I ended up working 9 hours. I was so exhausted by the end I thought I was going to throw up on the way home. For the next two weeks I was very tired, sleeping 10-12 hours a day. Every since, I've been slowly approaching normal again. 

I think if you stay home for 4 weeks, you will be bored. After two weeks, I had cabin fever and couldn't wait to get back to work, even though it was tough for a while.

geenaj
on 3/29/14 5:59 am - Sweden
RNY on 11/28/13

I had laproscopic RNY on a Thursday and was back at work on the following Tuesday. I was more tired after a workday than usual those first couple of weeks but managed just fine. At my clinic they authorize four weeks, but the doctor says that's more to give you time to get into the eating, drinking, walking schedule than because you "can't" work. I felt like I needed to find that rhythm while working since that's my real life.

QoftheU
on 3/29/14 6:09 am - Bay Area/Silicon Valley, CA
Revision on 12/18/13

I went back after ten days - to a full time teaching job - high school!  Everyone is different, and I've always been a fast healer, but I even surprised myself with that one!

Leslie - Band Revision to RNY - best thing ever!   HW: 234   SW: 222  CW: Ticker  GW: 130

Grandmaneice
on 3/29/14 7:08 pm
RNY on 03/24/14

I'm a pre school teacher and my dr told me I need to be off 3 weeks, so I have 2 more weeks to be off.  Fine with me I need a break, but am getting bored already, was happy my hubby took me shopping yesterday!

rebakemp72
on 3/30/14 12:13 am - Mechanicville, NY
RNY on 02/24/14