WHAT IS THE IRON WE USE AFTER RNY?

mama_dee54
on 5/27/14 9:17 am

My daughter had sleeve 5 years ago and has been through several transfusion because of severe anemia. I think they have hers under control now. I sure don't want to go through that. I want to start the iron as soon as I can. She ate ice like crazy and it had to be a certain texture right before we found out she was anemic. (CRAZY) what it does to you. Any suggestions on the kind of iron we absorb best?

poet_kelly
on 5/27/14 9:25 am - OH

Carbonyl.  It's all elemental iron and does not need a lot of stomach acid to be absorbed.  As an added bonus, it usually does not cause constipation like the ferrous salts do.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

mama_dee54
on 5/27/14 9:31 am

Thanks ! You should be called the vitamin lady ! You sure know your stuff ! I was looking around for answers on some things and up popped your picture ! I think it was on yahoo somewhere ! LOL  

poet_kelly
on 5/27/14 9:33 am - OH

Thanks.  I'm a freelance writer and I write for a number of website, including Yahoo Voices and Livestrong.  I've done a bunch of articles on Yahoo about WLS and vitamins.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

mama_dee54
on 5/27/14 9:44 am