Surgeon just changed me from VSG to RNY - a little nervous!

Christine S.
on 8/2/14 3:53 am, edited 8/2/14 4:52 am

Hi all!

I am completely new to the RNY forum as up until two day ago, I had been planning for a sleeve, but things have changed...

I had posted about a week ago in the VSG forum that my Dr was requiring I have a manometry test. It's an up-your-nose-down-your-throat-with-a-rubber hose-test (kidding..it's a probe not a hose. :) ) that measures your swallowing ability. This is apparently because the sleeve causes a higher pressure area and you need to be able to swallow "hard" enough or you could have issues with reflux, gerd and vomiting.

I had the test yesterday (I had it years ago when I had a lapband so I knew what I was in for. The band was a disaster and it was taken out in less than a year...) The results this time showed that I did not "pass" and probably never should have had the band way back when either. I "failed" 3 out of 10 swallows and a 4th the liquid came back up. Soooooo....now Dr Marema would like to change my surgery to bypass instead of the sleeve. I love the doctor and trust him in his judgment but for some reason I am totally freaked out by bypass. It makes no sense since the sleeve would have been removing my stomach while bypass takes nothing out. I guess I have it in my head that bypass has more "issues" than VSG? . Anyway, just having a little issue with plans changing and looking for opinions.

That's all!!

Christine

Louise1974
on 8/2/14 7:09 am

It sounds like your doc is making a good decision but it would have totally freaked me out too.  I had RNY and am doing fine.  i don't know the complication rates to compare but I have read over and over that the rny is the gold standard because it has been around the longest and has the most research.  And, if you really are a bad candidate for the vsg then your opptions are pretty much no surgery or rny and no surgery probably has alot of complications. 

WhydidIwait