Not satisfied after meals

Showbiz7757
on 8/13/14 3:23 am

I'm 8 months postop and I'm finding that I'm not satisfied after my 4-6 oz protein meal. Any advice? 

poet_kelly
on 8/13/14 4:40 am - OH

When you say four to six ounce protein meal, do you mean that you are eating four to six ounces of just protein?  I would add a couple ounces of vegetables, to give you more volume and some fiber without adding a lot of fat or calories.  What does your surgeon's meal plan say you should be eating at this point?  At eight months out, I was eating about a cup of food at a time.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Showbiz7757
on 8/13/14 5:10 am

My doctor has said 6 oz is all I should be eating and has not said anything about veggies. Yes, I'm just eating meat and protein shakes.

poet_kelly
on 8/13/14 8:48 am - OH

Well, protein shakes usually don't keep you feeling full for long.  And if you eat six ounces of protein three times a day, that would mean you are getting around 120 grams of protein a day (one gram of meat, poultry or seafood has about seven grams of protein in it), which is probably more than you need.  So if you eat a little less protein and add in more fiber, you would probably feel full longer.  But if your surgeon's plan says not to eat any veggies and not to eat more than six ounces, maybe you want to call him and ask what to do.  It just makes no sense to me to be eating nothing but meat and protein shakes for eight months.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly