Issues

senelrad
on 8/20/14 8:47 am

I was hoping for some advice or suggestions!?! Does anyone have issues with diarrhea? I'm a year out and before now would be lucky to have a BM every other day! I read somewhere that once the "absorption" kicks back in, that you maybe prone to diarrhea?? Also for those a year out about how many calories are you taking in and how many oz of solids can you take in at one time (not slider food). I know everyone is different but I was looking for a "ball park idea". Thanks! 

poet_kelly
on 8/20/14 8:57 am - OH

I don't know why you'd be more prone to diarrhea after you are absorbing most of the fat you eat again.  Seems like malabsorbing fat would be more likely to cause diarrhea to me.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

senelrad
on 8/20/14 9:06 am

Yup I agree, I have seen post on here about folks having diarrhea. Before now I have had the opposite! So I was wondering at what time frame. I'm not sure what's up! Suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 8/21/14 12:38 am - OH

As Kelly said, it is generally the opposite: people have diarrhea immediately post-op when they aren't consuming any solid food and then, sometimes, early out when they are malabsorbing more of the fat they eat. Constipation is much more frequent.