Negative reactions when people find out

smilingsarahjo
on 9/8/14 11:00 pm - Middletown, OH

Hello!

I'm in month 1 of my six month supervised diet (required by my insurance) so I'm still new to EVERYTHING. What do you say to people that find out you are going to have/have had weight loss surgery and have a negative reaction. I'm super excited about it and want to share my excitement with my friends/family but I'm getting a lot of "that seems very drastic" and "have you TRIED diet and exercise?!?!" and "you lost 100lbs before, can't you just do it again?" and "I don't understand why you don't just lose weight the natural way" etc.  And it is SO frustrating. OBVIOUSLY I've tried diet and exercise. OBVIOUSLY I wouldn't go to surgery as a first option. I'm making a decision to make a positive change in my life and it is going to be hard. Why can't people just be happy for me and supportive?

So what do you say when people have negative comments about wls?

kayleystar
on 9/8/14 11:16 pm
RNY on 01/06/15

I was worried about people reacting negatively to me having surgery, so I started out only telling my closest confidants. My husband (obviously), my Mom, and my best friend. They were all extremely supportive. Over the last month, I've told my close family, and a few other friends, and to my surprise, every single person has been nothing but supportive. They've seen me struggle with my weight since I was 10 years old, and ultimately they just want what's best for me...which is to be healthy. 

Unfortunately, not everyone will understand exactly WHY you've chosen to have surgery. Those that are closest to you may just need to know more information about the surgery. There's a lot of stigma still (I believe) in having WLS, and I think that is due to lack of education/understanding on their part. TALK ABOUT IT! Tell them what it'll entail, and how you'll be able to reclaim your life, post-op...and that it's still a lifelong journey, and their support is so important.