Non-diabetic hypoglycemia- what do you do?

drmroth
on 1/7/15 2:42 pm, edited 1/7/15 3:32 pm

I posted last week about my blood glucose levels and so I started to keep a blood glucose journal to track my levels. My endocrinologist said that I have hypoglycemia and that I need to eat more often. Anyone else have experience with this?

poet_kelly
on 1/7/15 2:54 pm - OH

Yeah, I think it's fairly common for RNY folks a few years post op.  I eat about every three hours and try to have some protein and some carbs at each meal/snack.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

H.A.L.A B.
on 1/7/15 8:10 pm

There are 2 types of hypoglycemia, the regular fasting- when you don't eat enough or often enough. And second is Reactive hypoglycemia. 

The first one -you need to eat more often, and be careful what you eat. 

The second - is low blood sugar because you body overreacted to csrbs/sugars in you meal, and you will see drop in BS app 1-2 hrs after a meal. 

The RH can be control by a diet - avoiding simple carbs and eating proteins and fat together with small amont of complex carbs. 

Hala. RNY 5/14/2008; Happy At Goal =HAG

"I can eat or do anything I want to - as long as I am willing to deal with the consequences"

"Failure is not falling down, It is not getting up once you fell... So pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again...."

drmroth
on 1/7/15 10:11 pm, edited 1/11/15 10:11 pm

Thank you for your response. It appears as though I'm experiencing both types of hypoglycemia that you mentioned. I'm sticking with mostly chicken and some broccoli until things settle down. I'm 6 months post-op. 

H.A.L.A B.
on 1/7/15 11:18 pm