Going to Summer Camp

AngelaLynn11
on 7/9/15 8:28 am

I am considering a revision from band to RNY.  My doctor already said I am a good candidate due to complications with the band and lack of weight loss. 

I work at a summer camp every summer for 2 months. I'm a teacher so this feels like a paid vacation!  I love working with the kids without the math part. I LOVE IT!

While there, we live on camp and eat the camp foods in the dining hall...there is no other option.  It is quite healthy compared to what people "think" of camp food.  We have a full salad bar including some protein options like cottage cheese as well as fresh fruit.  We (my husband and I) have a small fridge in the cabin which I have kept protein shakes to supplement when needed.  The unhealthy part of the camp food is it is often very carb laden.  Lots of pasta, breaded meats, etc keeps their cost down and it is things kids like.  Although there are times they have healthy baked chicken I'm wondering how I would be able to eat with RNY. 

One of my biggest reasons for having WLS is to improve my quality of life.  I do not want to give this up.  When I met my husband in 2008 I began to work at camp with him.  I was about 240lbs.  It was somewhat uncomfortable walking all over but definitely worth it.  Through the next 6 years I have been putting on weight and this wonderful part of my life is becoming difficult and not nearly as fun as it was.  I also have other complications with my feet and ankles due to excess weight.  

Has anyone had such an experience long term?  We stay for 2 months so I would need to figure out how to eat for this period of time with the foods offered to me.  I do not have access to the kitchen (health code) and only have the small fridge in my cabin and a coffee machine.  We do have access to ho****er. 

Angela 

~Banded 7/2007, removal and revision needed.

HW 325; Lap-band 2007; LW 225; GW: 150

Gwen M.
on 7/9/15 11:41 am
VSG on 03/13/14