Newbie here, 2 weeks post-op, truly blessed!

RLynnLopez
on 10/22/15 10:00 pm

Hi everyone! I've been lurking in the shadows for about a month, so I figured it was time to create an account. I had the gastric bypass surgery on 10/07/15, and am 2 weeks post-op. Yesterday (Thursday), I had my 2 week post-op check-up, and things are going great. I must admit, when I found out I was being switched from liquid diet to soft foods, I felt like it was an early Christmas gift LOL - the 2 hour ride home, I was debating on what to try first, and decided on Tuna. I had bought a ton of the small 2.7 ounce packets of tuna last week, because I had read it was one of the first foods allowed - anyway, I'm suppose to eat 1/4 to 1/2 a cup of food at the time, and it measured out to be a tiny bit over 1/4th a cup. I only ate half of it, and to be honest, as excited as I was to move on to food and add texture to my diet, I was turned off after the first bite. 4 hours later, I measured out some imitation crab, ate half, still turned off by it. 4 hours later, I made some egg salad - and the same thing! I used to love these foods, and now, they either taste weird, or not good at all. Is this normal?

I also am wondering about weight loss - at the first week checkup, I had lost 19lbs, and at my second week, I had lost 10 - is this good progress for the first few weeks? My doctor says they don't look at weight lost until week 6, and then is just to make sure you're on track with the weight loss. Anyways, I'm excited to be here with you guys, and I hope everyone is doing well!!

**I'm looking forward to skinny dipping, cause I'm so tired of chunky dunking**

**You can't really appreciate the love you have for others, until you learn to love yourself**

Dcgirl
on 10/23/15 6:34 am - DC
RNY on 12/16/13