Hunger pains

Leah P.
on 12/2/15 4:16 pm
with

Hi everyone! I have a question, does anyone experience hunger pains after RNY? I was told that the portion they remove of the stomach contains the hunger hormone The reason I ask is because I do feel hungry at times. I'm trying to decipher if it's a mental hunger or a physical hunger. I'm only a week and a half out from my surgery so I'm still learning all of these things. Mentally I have to change a lot so that's why I'm wondering if it could be a mental hunger.

RNY: 11/23/2015

HW:284  SW:280  

"I may not be there yet, but, I'm closer today than I was yesterday."

H.A.L.A B.
on 12/2/15 4:23 pm

They typically do not remove the rest of the stomach in RNY... did they remove yours? why? 

And a first few days post op - what you dealing with is either head hunger - ... or acid... are you on PPI? 

Hala. RNY 5/14/2008; Happy At Goal =HAG

"I can eat or do anything I want to - as long as I am willing to deal with the consequences"

"Failure is not falling down, It is not getting up once you fell... So pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again...."

Leah P.
on 12/2/15 4:32 pm
with

No, they didn't remove it. I guess the better way to word that would have been the part they disconnected. Because is pretty much useless now. I'm not familiar with PPI, what is that?

H.A.L.A B.
on 12/2/15 4:37 pm

Proton-Pump Inhibitors (PPIs) http://www.medicinenet.com/proton-pump_inhibitors/article.ht m

Meds that reduces production of acids in your stomach..

a lot of docs put people on PPI for the first 3-6 months post op.. Sometimes too much acid =hunger... 

"I can eat or do anything I want to - as long as I am willing to deal with the consequences"

"Failure is not falling down, It is not getting up once you fell... So pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again...."

H.A.L.A B.
on 12/2/15 4:42 pm