Question about poultry

frhoffard
on 3/8/16 12:16 pm
RNY on 11/12/15

So I had my surgery November 12, 2015 and I feel like I'm doing pretty good.  However, no matter how I prepare it I cannot eat poultry.  Ground, baked, grilled, slow cooker....white meat, dark meat..it really does not matter.  I can eat 1 or 2 bites, chew it really well and then I can feel it just sitting in my pouch and it is very uncomfortable.  My dietitian keeps telling me to wait a week or so and try again but I'm not good with the pain or having to throw it back up.

Should I keep trying it occasionally or just wait a few months and then try?  I eat a lot of fish and I've been ok the few times I've tried red meat; I don't want to hurt myself just trying to eat chicken or turkey.

Thanks and Happy Tuesday!

?Accept responsibility for your life. Know that it is you who will get you where you want to go, no one else.? ? Les Brown

(deactivated member)
on 3/8/16 12:26 pm

I would wait and try it again. Some people can never eat somethings again. There are a ton of good things out there. If it makes you uncomfortable I would really wait. 

birdiegirl
on 3/8/16 12:42 pm

Have you tried it with liquid/gravy to assist the transition?  Poultry products are probably one of the toughest for some people.  I never eat chicken on its own to this day but always with something moist.

Tomatoes - gravy packets - mayo whatever.  When you do try again ensure its accompanied by something liquid-moist or wet.  I ate a lot of chicken with tomatoes early out.

Good Luck

frhoffard
on 3/8/16 12:50 pm
RNY on 11/12/15

Yes, I've tried liquids and gravy but it hasn't helped.  Even pieces of chicken in soup don't agree with my pouch.  I don't really miss chicken or turkey at this point but my dietitian keeps pushing me to try them again and again. 

?Accept responsibility for your life. Know that it is you who will get you where you want to go, no one else.? ? Les Brown

mschwab
on 3/8/16 12:51 pm
RNY on 11/21/14