NUT-Consult Matches Advice from OH members!

SkinnyScientist
on 8/29/17 10:47 am

Actually, the issue is I am new to this and not understanding it.

Because my breakfast was low carb, I was expecting something in the 90s or below. Since a pre-meal blood sugar for a normal person is between 80-100, I was a bit upset to see a 105.

Do we just round these blood sugar values down?

This is probably why the NUT has me seeing the PA this Friday.

Thanks in advance for answering my questions!

RNY Surgery: 12/31/2013; 

Current weight (2/27/2015) 139lbs, ~14% body fat

Three pounds below Goal!!! Yay !  

Donna L.
on 8/29/17 7:24 pm, edited 8/29/17 12:24 pm - Chicago, IL
Revision on 02/19/18

As insulin drops from eating low carb (or eating less regardless in our cases), a hormone called glucagon rises and causes blood sugar to rise. Also, protein causes a spike in insulin (and sometimes blood sugar) because insulin is needed to break protein down into amino acids.

I follow a ketogenic diet post-op. I also have a diagnosis of binge eating disorder. Feel free to ask me about either!

It is not that we have so little time but that we lose so much...the life we receive is not short but we make it so; we are not ill provided but use what we have wastefully. -- Seneca, On the Shortness of Life

SkinnyScientist
on 8/29/17 10:09 am

Success! 99-two hours after lunch! At least I picked ONE meal right today.

Ended up missing body pump. Will have to tae bo and HIIT instead.

H.A.L.A B.
on 8/29/17 11:35 am

initially I used to measure my BS before a meal and then in 15 min intervals after meals. I can't eat just eggs. My BS gets up and then drops, then goes up again. My lowest BS after eggs was around 50. But adding some mayo or bacon - kept it more steady.