Can your sleeve stretch to normal size stomach

Brad Special
Snowflake

on 4/13/14 10:48 pm
VSG on 12/06/12

I am not a doctor so here is just my understanding of it. When they perform a sleeve they remove the fundus which is the stretchy part of our stomach. This is also the part where the ghrenlin lies which causes hunger. If they left too much of the fundus then it is easier to stretch it. To really stretch a properly made sleeve she would have to eat to excess that caused her pain all of the time. It is really hard to stretch a sleeved stomach.

Jackie
Multiplepetmom

on 4/14/14 1:00 am

maybe, in fact probably, IMO 

the thing to remember is that you can regain everything either way. it's both about what you eat and how much.

once upon a time I had a group to talk about Binge Eating Disorder, and later one about Clean Eating.

PM me if you are interested in either of these.

size 8, life is great

Ms Shell
on 4/14/14 2:45 am - Hawthorne, CA

Another "opinion" based on research etc.

How small/big your sleeve is made dictates how much of the stomach "stretchy part" which I believe is the fundus is LEFT intake.  Just like our SKIN stretches to accommodate our morbidly obese bodies, if we are hell bent on over eating over TIME this behavior and a stretchy stomach CAN lead to stretching out your stomach.  I would reckon to guess this occurrence would have to be on a DAILY basis.  So is it possible well YES.

NOW what is normal?  My normal preop was whole pizzas followed by wings and well I could eat enough for 5 "normal" people on some sittings.  While I can eat WAY more then I was able to during the first year, I personally don't think 6-12oz of food is alot BUT it is a "normal" portion for many people.  What I choose to comprise that, well is another story.

(deactivated member)
on 4/14/14 3:05 am

I agree with Ms. Shell.