Just when I think I've made up my mind....geesh!!!

TravelingMomofTwo
on 4/26/12 12:38 pm
 I'm a researcher. Totally my nature to read, research, and research some more when making a decision. But then...

I met with the surgeon and when he breezed over the DS, I asked a question and was promptly told, by a well-known and regarded expert in the WLS world, that it was 'way too much surgery for most people". He alo stated "You'll definetly have diarrhea with this procedure". Threw me off my game...

Tell me I'm wrong: research I'm seeing says people have better long-term success with the DS, have diarrhea/bloating/gas initially but then it gets better and can be managed well by food. I read that malnutrition is rare now, if you are taking your vitamins and being proactive. Side effects in research appear to be similar to the GP.  I plan on having one surgery, so why wouldn't surgeons sell this procedure?? Do you feel like you are living post -DS to get protein, water, and vitamins just in? I just don't get it....

DS Surgery Date Scheduled for July!

HW: 277

Herman
on 4/26/12 1:06 pm
 Sounds like your surgeon doesn't know very much about the DS.

'IF' he has done any at all I doubt it's very many. 

It wasn't to much surgery for me, and I was a lightweight. My weight loss went smoothly I was at a normal weight by 11 month out. I eat well and have no vitamin deficiencies and I do not have diarrhea. 

And most don't have the kind of problems he is talking about.

Honestly...... I would find another surgeon, as long as you have done your research who is he to second guess you. 

Lap-band 2007
 DS 2009
larra
on 4/26/12 1:46 pm - bay area, CA
This at least explains why his NP is so ignorant. She's taking her cue from him.

You did your research. You know your facts. You know that the DS is a standard of care operation NOT just for SMO patients, but for anyone who meets the NIH criteria for wls, including you.