Post Op Ds Eating

ginany
on 4/30/12 6:31 am - brooklyn, NY
DS on 04/23/12
Hi All
Can you guys give me some ideas of what you all ate post op.  Im I week out.  Im eating both, sugar free jello, one protein shake a day and basically thats it.  Besides 64 ounces of fluid.  Im still a bit afraid of the full feeling,  What does it feel like.  I really dont remember what it felt like when I had my RNY.  Just remember things getting stuck and throwing up.  Thats all I remember.
Gina    

RNY 1/26/06 
SW 345
Revised to DS 4/23/12
SW 268

MajorMom
on 4/30/12 7:18 am - VA
That's about all I did the first week home except cream of whatever soup was on our list as well. Then I graduated to mushies and then to soft foods. Mushies included things like re-fried beans and Wendy's chili. Soft foods were things like cheese and shrimp ****tail.

--gina

5'1" -- HW 195/SW 187/GW 115 July 08/CW 121 Dec 2012
                                 ******GOAL*******

Starting BMI between 35 and 40ish? 
Join us on the
Lightweights Board!
DS on Aug 9, 2007 with Dr. Hazem Elariny

NoMore B.
on 4/30/12 7:34 am
Hi Gina,

For me, early out, being full felt more like a lump high up in my chest.  Just take breaks between bites and sips to make sure everything is settling with you.  At your stage, one extra bite could make the difference between satisifed, and OMG I'm going to explode.  Learn the quantities you can eat - and know that it''s going to change A LOT in the upcoming months.

My early go-to things were a lot like Major Mom said.

-Tomato soup (try it with melted cheese)
-Yogurt
-Scrambled egg
-Egg drop soup
-Melted brie

Think about things that are soft.  Roslin explained it to me like things that you could mush up with a cheap plastic fork.  Start there
ginany
on 4/30/12 12:22 pm - brooklyn, NY
DS on 04/23/12
Thats good advice, thanks Joanne
Gina    

RNY 1/26/06 
SW 345
Revised to DS 4/23/12
SW 268

PatXYZ
on 4/30/12 8:59 am, edited 4/29/12 9:00 pm