Why do we need more protein?

Bella_Fein
on 4/20/13 9:23 am - TX
VSG on 02/18/13

I am no medical professional, this is really out of curiosity. I will follow my plan and you follow yours, deal? Deal.

Now that we have that out of the way. I have been trying to figure out why so many say we should be getting 100+ g of protein. My doctor actually told me to back off when I told him I was getting 80-90g. According to CDC Women only need 46g. Now when you check Unjury's website they suggest 70-80g. American Society of Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery suggest to get at least 60 to 80 g. These are the big wigs of bariatrics and they say 60-80g.

So, my question is why does a normal woman only need 46g, but according to many people on this board, their doctors say 100+g. Our absorption has not changed. What is different? I get 55-75g a day. Which is above what the CDC says and mostly in line with the American Society of Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery.

Anyone know more on this?

LilySlim Weight loss tickers

INgirl
on 4/20/13 9:31 am

You have to realize- the CDC guide is a baseline for preventing deficiency, not the optimum..  just the barest minimum to squeak by.. That said, most women do just fine with 70-80g unless you are interested in serious bodybuilding. More than that is just more.. The remainder of your cals over and above should really come from fats, with some carbs to round it out if you choose.. but for the vast majority- 70-90g protein a day/average is more than plenty. YMMV, your way of eating is going to be personal to YOU, find what works and makes you feel best (and look best/test out best) and adjust as needed. 

Bella_Fein
on 4/20/13 9:35 am - TX
VSG on 02/18/13