anyone else feel like this

akindofmagick
on 1/26/17 1:13 pm - MD

I had VSG 5 days before I turned 58 (absolutely did not feel like celebrating my birthday that year; was still sleeping sitting up, ugh!). I only wish I'd had it done in 2009, when I first learned of it.

My joint pain, my high blood pressure, high cholesterol, incipient diabetes, and mild sleep apnea - ALL GONE. I walked 15 miles in two days in NYC this past Christmas, on hard pavement wearing BOOTS. I hiked in Big Sur and Yosemite last August. I can walk my tweens into the ground. I can even RUN again. Whooo-hoooo!!!

Ageism at work was getting to be an issue - I was a fat old lady. Now I'm older... but looking pretty darn good. People treat me differently, and with more respect (I work in IT.) It's NICE, lemme tell you.

No regrets (except wishing I'd done it sooner!)!!!

I've been fat, and I've been thin - and thin is better.  

There is a better way. --Alaine of Lyndar 
--------------------------
HW: 234. SW: 228 (18 June 2015). GW: 137. Specs: 50ish, 5'4"

patchoulli
on 1/26/17 5:15 pm - port charlotte, FL

One week from tomorrow.  Thank you for the positive words,.

paulag52
on 1/27/17 6:35 pm

I'm 64 and just had my sleeve 3  days ago. It will be s struggle but I know it will get easier. 

Rachel B.
on 1/21/17 9:24 am - Tucson, AZ
VSG on 08/11/08 with

I was in the same spot as you - 120# overweight, healthy as a horse, working out at the gym regularly, etc,etc,etc...  I didn't have health insurance and I did self-pay too.  My first diet was at 7.  I didn't feel the least bit guilty about about doing the surgery.  I have spent so much money on WW, Jenny Craig, weight pills, shots, programs, etc.  It was the best decision I ever made in my life.  It wasn't the magic bullet.  I lost my way for a few years, but I'm back on track and the weight is coming off well again.  For that, I will always be greatful.