WLS and Family

Cella123
on 3/24/11 12:04 pm - IL
My family is driving me crazy. I have 2 1/2 weeks till surgery and my sister is acting crazy. She thinks something is going to happen to me. She says that there are complications and what if something happens to me because I have a son and I am a single mom. So she is telling this to my mom which  now she is worried more then before. Did anyone have family like this and did you think you would have problems or even die from the surgery, this is what my sister is implying.

poet_kelly
on 3/24/11 12:17 pm - OH
No, my family was not like that.

I did know I could have complications or even die.  You can die from any surgery.  But I also knew I would certainly have complications from obesity and could die from that.

Kelly

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

melissa22886
on 3/24/11 12:18 pm
my surgery is the day before yours. and my mom is that way. she is nervous and paranoid but it's expected. i try and reassure her that i will be ok(even though im terrified myself) and keep reminding her of my surgeons personal statistics with how well al his patients have done. the rest of my family that i have told have been supportive, mainly because two of them have had the same surgery(one RNY, one lap band) .
Smileygrl810
on 3/24/11 12:26 pm
I don't know what your health issues are right now... but you could also die from NOT having the surgery. You could also die walking across the street. My mom was worried... I took her to a few support groups with me and also gave her this website to get on and ask questions. The more she researched it the better she felt about it. Maybe you could try that with them???