Ick, why do pills taste so bad?

poet_kelly
on 4/5/11 3:14 am - OH
I don't chew them and don't crush them, but even so Lamictil is one of the nastiest things I've ever tasted.  I take a drink as fast as I can after I put the vile tablets in my mouth, but even so, I taste them.  And the taste is enough to make me want to gag.  Effexor is not much better, the non-extended release ones, I mean.  Not the capsules, the tablets.  Why on earth can't they  make it taste better?  I'm not saying it must taste yummy.  but why does it have to be this gross?

Ok.  Vent over.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

siberiancat
on 4/5/11 3:19 am - COLUMBIA CITY, IN
Try taking a couple drinks first -  so your mouth isn't dry.  Have a piece of SF gum or a SF mint (I like Spry mints sweetend with Xylitol) ready to pop in your mouth after you swallow.

Works for me.
 Penny
Highest Weight 255  * Wt loss includes 19 lb lost before surgery

poet_kelly
on 4/5/11 3:34 am - OH
I've been taking them with a flavored drink, not plain water, and then popping a piece of sugar free hard candy in my mouth right after.  Sugar free Werthers only has 8 calories and 3 sugar alcohols in one piece.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

ANNI D.
on 4/5/11 3:26 am