A gift to myself as well as my children.

shellbell75
on 5/9/11 7:48 am

So yesterday on mother's day I gave the greatest gift to myself and my children. I quit SMOKING!!! Yay me! I can't believe I even started smoking again. I had quit when I was pregnant with the twins (they just turned 2). Then when they were 2 months old I had a pulmonary embolism. Yeah, I should have NEVER started again. About 7 months ago, I had a party and don't usually drink. Well, I got a little tipsy (ok really tipsy) and my friend was on my porch smoking. I thought I could be one of those people who just had a couple and leave it alone again. Nope. I did for a few weeks and broke down and bought my own pack to the disappoint of myself and my husband. I have a degree and have been in nursing since 95 so I know all of the implications of smoking after a PE. Well, I also know that if I still smoke after surgery, I was setting myself up for another PE. It was the most excruciating pain in my life and never want to go thru that again.

So I am done. Done forever. I now know that I am not and will never be one of those people that can have just one and be done. I have to approach this like it is, a true addiction. I have the patch on so I am not having any physical cravings, just head cravings. I didn't smoke in my house or in the car, just my porch. So if I get the urge, I will go take my Kindle that dh just got me for mother's day and sit on the porch and read in my smoking chair. lol

I'm sorry this was so long. Thanks for reading. On another positive note. I all of my pre-op requirements completed and just waiting on insurance approval. Once I get that, I will have my 1/2 day class with my dr, nurse and NUT and I will be good to go. The only pre-op testing I have to get is blood work! YAY. 

**SHELLY**   HW: 316   SW: 256   GW: 125  CW: 118       

Don27516
on 5/9/11 7:54 am - NC