What the hell was that?!

aesposito
on 11/6/11 11:47 am
 Started soft proteins today, took a few bites og ground beef...and a few minutes later I literally thought I was going to die. Stomach pain, chest pain, like it was stuck or something. I actually prayed to vomit...the pain came in incredible waves. Ended about a half hour later.

Not sure if bites were too big, meat not moist enough, too much grisle and fat not chewed up enough...but I never ever want to feel that way again, ever!

Audrey

Highest weight: 340
Surgery weight: 313
Surgery date: 10/24/11
Current weight 170... 170 pounds lost!!!!

I am not a doctor, but I play one at work.

hlacy
on 11/6/11 11:54 am - Chandler, AZ
Many people have trouble with beef early out, and some can never eat it. On my plan, we could not have beef until we were two months out. Have you tried ground turkey and chicken yet? 
"Keep a green tree in your heart and perhaps a singing bird will come"           

BugdocMom
on 11/6/11 11:58 am - CA
Awww...I'm sorry that happened on your first try. It sucks. The first time it happened to me, I thought I was having a heart attack. Then I barfed up the meat and felt instant relief...

It could have been any of the things you listed: bite too big, didn't chew enough, ate too fast, or your pouch just doesn't like ground beef. I would wait a while before trying ground beef again and make sure there's a sauce to keep it moist.

We never know what will be accepted by our pouches. For a long time, medium rare steak was the only real meat I could eat. Strange because beef usually is the last thing our pouches accept and I HATED steak prior to surgery. I still can't do scrambled eggs, and I no longer LIKE ground beef which I used to eat several times a week before surgery. Go slow and introduce your meats one at a time, make sure to eat slowly, take small bites, and chew chew chew! I would also recommend adding a low sugar low fat sauce the first time to keep it moist.

stlfocus