Accidental Jogger?

JerseyJim
on 2/3/12 10:58 am - Sayre, PA
A couple of days ago, my dog Ziggy and I were feeling a little bit restless.  My first thought was to take him to the dog park so that he could run around and have fun.  Ultimately, I decided to take him for a nice long walk instead.  Ziggy is a one year old puggle, and he was feeling extra frisky.  He kept pulling and pulling for the first half hour of our walk. I've never tried running/jogging before, but I thought I might just do it a little bit to get some of his excess energy burned off.  So I tried jogging a little bit and it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be.  It really wasn't enough for Ziggy so I tried running at full speed for a block and he was way too fast for me so I went back to jogging for a bit.  

Fast forward to today and my quads and glutes are BURNING! I guess I never realized how much even a short run can work out your muscles.  Needless to say, I ran in flat bottomed court shoes and not running shoes since I hadn't planned on running.  Not that I own a pair of running shoes, but I'm sure my old school Reebok court shoes weren't the right choice.

So now I'm in the market for some running shoes so that I can give this jogging thing a try.  I'm at a weight now, where jogging doesn't seem out of the question, and could use some advice on reasonably priced, good quality running shoes. As a matter of fact, I could really use some advice on how to ease into the whole jogging thing.

HW: 418 SW: 386 CW: 225 GW: 210

pattymac65
on 2/3/12 11:05 am
When I saw your subject line I thought "why was someone chasing you???"  lol... that's about the only time I would jog!  Great for you though... way to go!!

JerseyJim
on 2/3/12 11:15 am - Sayre, PA
Thanks!

Cleopatra_Nik
on 2/3/12 11:07 am - Baltimore, MD
Good GAWD, Jim, where is the rest of you???

You are seriously half the man you were last I saw you.
JerseyJim
on 2/3/12 11:16 am - Sayre, PA