so excited RNY next Tuesday - any words of wisdom?

sidsid
on 5/7/12 8:59 am
 Just  got the call, surgery next Tuesday. Can't weight ( ha ha - catch the pun?)

Cant wait - 3 nights in hospital, any words of wisdom?

Hoping 3 weeks should be enough time off.
lynnc99
on 5/7/12 9:05 am

3 weeks will most likely be fine for your recovery. I was very fortunate in that regard and hope you will be too!

As for the hospital: Travel light. Take a pair of supportive slip on sandals or Crocs for your walking, especially if you are prone to any foot or heel pain. Those floors are unforgiving and you will be walking a LOT! But I'll never forget when I was a newbie, reading someone here who was taking their laptop, scrapbooking supplies, and a needlepoint project or some such thing to the hospital....no kidding!

And wisdom for later on: Be patient with yourself. We all want to have our surgery and discover that the weight is gone overnight....or even better, yesterday. It doesn't work that way. It's a long haul, and if you follow the rules, you will happily discover that it works out in the end.

Oxford Comma Hag
on 5/7/12 9:11 am
lip balm. that's the only thing I really needed that the hospital didn't have. If you would feel more comfortable with a favorite bathrobe or a pillow, take it. 

I slept, then walked, then slept again, so I really didn't need anything. The day I left I amused myself by watching a little daytime tv.

good luck
rhondanewme
on 5/7/12 9:11 am - Grantsboro, NC
Congratulations on getting your date- just around the corner too!
I took off 3 weeks and that worked fine for me. Just depends on the person, some need more, some need less.