Salad

mjst220
on 6/18/12 7:03 am
Is salad something you eat on a regular basis? My surgeon warned me that salad has a tendency to get stuck in the anastamosis junction and sometimes has to be gotten out by scope. Has anyone had any problems with this? I am 7mo out and am craving it, I have not had a stitch of lettuce since surgery out of fear...So far I have been extrememly lucky and can eat almost anything except bready stuff and greasy stuff.
poet_kelly
on 6/18/12 7:05 am - OH
I eat it on a regular basis.  I don't know why it would get stuck unless maybe you swallow large pieces without chewing it up well.  I've never seen anyone post here on OH about having to have it removed via scope, either.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

seashell6417
on 6/18/12 7:11 am - Gaylord, MN
I eat at least one lettuce based salad most days and have never had a problem.
Tami

(deactivated member)
on 6/18/12 7:12 am - waukesha, WI
I am 8 months out and been eating salad for the last 3 months..........no problem!
hporter27
on 6/18/12 7:22 am
Try eating it slowly.  I am 14 months out and have tried eating salad a couple of times but always get a terrible stomach ache whenever I have tried to eat lettuce.  I don't know why since I can eat other vegetables fine. 
jasonsmith
on 6/18/12 9:09 am - MO
im almost 6 weeks out and can handle lettuce with a low or no fat dressing

wendydettmer
on 6/18/12 9:11 am - Rochester, NY
i eat salad all the time. spinach every single day (although it's blended so no way it's going to get stuck) and a salad 3-5 times a week.

Follow my vegan transition at www.bariatricvegan.com
HW:288    CW:146.4   GW: 140    RNY: 12/22/11  

JUSTJUNQUIES