Have the recommendations for vitamin D changed recently?

Tiffani A.
on 7/15/12 11:08 pm - Virginia Beach, VA
 I was talking to a friend who will be having RNY soon. We were talking about vitamins and I mentioned that she would need a dry vitamin D tablet. 
She said her paperwork says she needs a liquid capsule and to puncture it and sort of drink the liquid out. I had thought that the liquid was oil and not something we absorb, but before I make that statement as fact, I thought I'd check here and see if this is something new?
Any input? Google wasn't much help.
Thanks!
poet_kelly
on 7/15/12 11:14 pm - OH
No, nothing has changed.  You are correct, the liquid capsule she's talking about is filled with oil and we malabsorb fats and oil is a fat, so she won't absorb that very well.  She will absorb some of it, we do absorb some fats, but just not all of it.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Dave Chambers
on 7/15/12 11:43 pm - Mira Loma, CA

A dry D3 is what you'll need post op.  I ended up taking the 50K IU dry D3 to get my D labs up to the desired 80-90 levels noted by several studies.  With adjustments, based on labs, it took me 6 years to have labs a little above 90 at 104. This was using one 50K IU dry D3 daily. I've now adjusted down to 6 per weeks which should set my D labs right about 90 next year. Not every post op is the same.  You might consider starting out with 2 or 3 of the 50K IU per week, and check D levels on next labs, adjusting accordingly. Any vitamin in an oil base will NOT work post op. DAVE