Calcium Citrate with D

Amelia L.
on 7/23/12 4:20 am
RNY on 08/20/12
I'm having a hard time finding a chewable Calcium Citrate with D that is not extremely expensive.  Can anyone give me any ideas?  Bought 2 bottles of Caltrate and I don't think the are citrate? Not sure.  So new to all of this.

poet_kelly
on 7/23/12 4:27 am - OH
Caltrate is calcium carbonate and we can't absorb that.  Hopefully you can return it.

I don't know of any real cheap chewable calcium citrate.  Most stores don't carry it and you have to order it online.  Have you looked at Celebrate and Bariatric Advantage websites?

You might want to consider Upcal D.  It's a powdered calcium citrate and it's pretty affordable, I think something like $12 for 120 doses, which would last you four or five weeks.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Feralgirl
on 7/23/12 5:09 am - Canada
RNY on 06/29/12
There's a liquid I have called Wellesse, it's calcium citrate and D, also it's lactose and sugar free. It's tolerable (it tasted better pre-op to me, orange cream flavor), and not too pricy.
I think Walmart has it, I got mine at Costco.

RNY Date - June 29th 2012

Gall Bladder out Jan 17 2013

poet_kelly
on 7/23/12 5:15 am - OH
It is calcium citrate AND tricalcium phosphate. We can't absorb the tricalcium phosphate.  I'm not sure how you would know how much to take to get the 1500 to 2000 mg calcium CITRATE we need daily since the label doesn't indicate how much of the calcium in it is citrate.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly